Bristol City Council Minutes of the Full Council

13 December 2022 at 12.45 pm



Members Present:-

Councillors: Mayor Marvin Rees, Lord Mayor Paula O'Rourke, Amal Ali, Donald Alexander, Lesley Alexander, Kerry Bailes, Nicola Beech, Mark Bradshaw, Fabian Breckels, Andrew Brown, Craig Cheney, Jos Clark, Sarah Classick, Amirah Cole, Asher Craig, Chris Davies, Carla Denyer, Kye Dudd, Richard Eddy, Jude English, Martin Fodor, Lorraine Francis, John Geater, Paul Goggin, Geoff Gollop, Zoe Goodman, John Goulandris, Fi Hance, Alex Hartley, Tom Hathway, Helen Holland, Gary Hopkins, Katja Hornchen, Jonathan Hucker, Philippa Hulme, Farah Hussain, Chris Jackson, Hibaq Jama, Ellie King, Heather Mack, Mohamed Makawi, Brenda Massey, Henry Michallat, Yassin Mohamud, Graham Morris, Steve Pearce, Ed Plowden, Guy Poultney, Kevin Quartley, Tom Renhard, Tim Rippington, James Scott, Sharon Scott, Steve Smith, Ani Stafford-Townsend, Lisa Stone, Christine Townsend, Andrew Varney, Mark Weston, David Wilcox, Chris Windows and Tim Wye

1 Welcome and Introductions

The Lord Mayor welcomed all attendees to the meeting and made a safety announcement in relation to the fire/emergency evacuation procedure.

2 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were heard from Councillors Bennett, Dyer, Edwards, Fitzjohn, Kent, Grant, Fitzgibbon, Parsons and Bartle.

3 Declarations of Interest

None received.

4 Freedom of the City - Guy Bailey OBE, Barbara Dettering, Roy Hackett MBE, Owen Henry, Prince Brown and Audley Evans

The Council considered a report recommending conferring Freedom of the City to Guy Bailey OBE, Barbara Dettering and posthumously to Roy Hackett MBE, Owen Henry, Prince Brown and Audley Evans



The Lord Mayor introduced the report and moved the recommendation.

The motion was seconded by Deputy Lord Mayor, Councillor Steve Smith.

Following speeches from Councillors Craig, Francis, Weston, Clark and Hopkins in support of the recommendation, it was

RESOLVED -

- 1. That the Freedom of the City of Bristol be conferred upon Guy Bailey OBE, Barbara Dettering and posthumously to Roy Hackett MBE, Owen Henry, Prince Brown and Audley Evans.
- 2. That their names be placed on the Roll of Honorary Freemen of the City.

Meeting ended at 1.30 pm	
CHAIR	

